Tabs-size problem

Ask how to do things or if a certain feature is available in the program.
Post Reply
akari
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 09:07

Tabs-size problem

Post by akari »

Hi,

I want the tab size exactly 4 spaces, but sometimes when I press tab it is 2,3,4 or more spaces.

Trying to turn off Smart tab, Tab inserts spaces & Preserve tab characters still can't make it always 4 spaces.

It is a bug or I doing the wrong setting?

User avatar
pjj
Posts: 1780
Joined: 13 Oct 2009 13:48
Location: Kraków, Poland

Re: Tabs-size problem

Post by pjj »

Switch off "Smart tab", but keep switched on "Tab inserts spaces", that should do the trick.

Nb. "Preserve tab characters" means "don't convert tabs to spaces on document open". If you prefer to always have spaces and no tabs, switch it off.
Alium tibi quaere fratrem; hic, quem tuum putas, meus est. Titus Flāvius Caesar Vespasiānus Augustus

akari
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Aug 2013 09:07

Re: Tabs-size problem

Post by akari »

pjj wrote:
22 Jul 2020 12:27
Switch off "Smart tab", but keep switched on "Tab inserts spaces", that should do the trick.

Nb. "Preserve tab characters" means "don't convert tabs to spaces on document open". If you prefer to always have spaces and no tabs, switch it off.
Thank you! Actually I got try this also, but not sure why it didn't work well, I try to reinstall and this fixes the problem.

User avatar
pjj
Posts: 1780
Joined: 13 Oct 2009 13:48
Location: Kraków, Poland

Re: Tabs-size problem

Post by pjj »

I'm glad you managed to sort it out :)
Alium tibi quaere fratrem; hic, quem tuum putas, meus est. Titus Flāvius Caesar Vespasiānus Augustus

Post Reply